Wednesday, February 17, 2010

The Hidden Flame

I get in a rut sometimes when it comes to reading my Bible. What I mean is that I read it and read it and read it and don't put a lot of thought behind events happening in the culture at the time.

The Acts of Faith series by Davis Bunn and Janette Oke fictionalize events surrounding the ministry of Christ and the early church. The first book in the series, The Centurion's Wife was wonderful. I picked it up at the library on a whim last year and I was hooked from the beginning.

The Hidden Flame is the second in the series. It is not dependent on the first book although a few of the characters are the same. The Hidden Flame follows the followers of the Way during the early church immediately following the crucifixtion of Christ.

Abigail is being sought after by two suitors, a merchant in high standing and a Roman soldier, but she wants neither of them. Her heart is drawn to another. The book was compelling and entertaining fiction, but also made me consider persecution. I take my faith for granted. I wonder if faced with the persecution of the early church, if I would stand firm. These people were dedicated.

Davis Bunn has written a number of gift books and novels, including The Great Divide.
Janette Oke's Love Comes Softly series has been the source for several Hallmark films.

This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for review. My opionions are my own.


Veronica said...

I haven't read the Love Comes Softly series, but have seen a couple of the movies.

I might need to check out this series though.

I have those same thoughts. Part of me thinks of course I would stand firm but another large part thinks I would falter....

KK said...

Sounds like a good one.

Mama H said...

Another great post! I love reading your blog! Stop by mine sometime soon... there's a little "surprise" there for you!